Leon Levine Hall of Health Sciences Building Ribbon Cutting, Largest Classroom Building Appalachian Has Built To Date

Last Updated on September 23, 2018 11:11 am

*Videos and photos at the end of the article* – The ribbon cutting for Appalachian State's largest classroom building to date took place on Friday afternoon.

The Leon Levine Hall of Health Sciences is a 203,000 square foot building and contains 33 classrooms and 27 labs.  Five of the six departments in the Beaver College of Health Sciences will be housed in Levine Hall. The Department of Recreation Management and Physical Education will remain in Holmes Convocation Center.

The building was made possible when North Carolina voters approved the Connect NC Bond vote in March 2016. The bond enables the state to finance a variety of capital and infrastructure improvement projects across the 17 University of North Carolina campuses. Levine Hall is the first completed project related to Connect NC and was completed on time and on budget. A $5 million commitment from The Leon Levine Foundation was used for furnishing and outfitting the laboratories and offices.

Departments occupying the building are: Communication Sciences & Disorders, Health and Exercise Science, Nutrition & Health Care Management, Nursing, Social Work

Approximately 150 faculty and about 2,300 students are teaching and learning in the building now. Classes and labs for Nursing students, who have been learning in clinical environments so far this semester, will begin in the building next week. Because of their clinical schedules, Nursing students follow a different schedule from the typical semester schedule.

Key features of the building include:

High-tech classrooms and laboratories designed for collaboration and problem-based learning;

Information commons and gallery

Student leadership and success center

Learning environments are primarily located on the first 3 floors.

Faculty and administrative offices are located on the 4th & 5th floors

The state-of-the-art facility allows for interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary collaboration and research in a location that facilitates a continued partnership between with the Appalachian Regional Healthcare System.

Classrooms are designed to facilitate Collaborative Learning and Problem-Based Learning (PBL). Along with high-tech classrooms and laboratories, flexibility is built into the design, to allow for lectures, working groups, and collaboration with instructors and students in the classroom, or health care practitioners located in medical or practitioner environments nearby or across the globe.

Appalachian’s nearly 3,500 students in the Beaver College of Health Sciences who can study in a state-of-the-art facility that enhances collaborative efforts across the disciplines and fosters a patient-centered practice model; and citizens of the region — many in rural areas — who will be served by Appalachian’s well-prepared graduates.

Ribbon cutting speakers included:

Dr. Sheri Everts, Chancellor, Appalachian State University

Margaret Spellings, President, UNC System

Tom Lawrence, Executive Director, Levine Foundation

Philip Byers, Member, UNC Board of Governors

Representative Nelson Dollar, Chair, Appropriations Committee, North Carolina

DeJon Milbourne, President, Appalachian Student Government Association

Dr. Darrell Kruger, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor

Following remarks, speakers cut the ribbon, along with James M. Barnes (Chair, Appalachian State University Board of Trustees) Don and Vicki Beaver, (Dr. Marie Huff (Beaver Health College Dean), and Chuck Mantooth (CEO, Appalachian Regional Healthcare System).

Appalachian's Beaver College of Health Sciences opened in 2010 as the result of a strategic university commitment to significantly enhance the health and quality of life for individuals, families and communities in North Carolina and beyond. In 2015, the college was named for an Appalachian alumnus and pioneer in the health care industry — Donald C. Beaver ’62 ’64 of Conover. The college offers 10 undergraduate degree programs and six graduate degree programs, which are organized into six departments: Communication Sciences and Disorders; Health and Exercise Science; Nursing; Nutrition and Health Care Management; Recreation Management and Physical Education; and Social Work. Learn more at

Videos courtesy of Appalachian State University Communications

Photos: Kenneth Reece

Dickson Foundation Lecture Hall

Leon Levine Hall north side

Audiology Clinic
Neuromuscular Lab 1

Photos: Appalachian State University Communications


Back to top button