New legislation changes Watauga County Commissioners election terms & voter changes

Last Updated on October 27, 2023 9:53 am

Legislation passed on Wednesday by the North Carolina General Assembly has changed the election terms for Watauga County Commissioners and how voters in the county vote for them.

Senate Bill 759 establishes election districts in the county for the Commissioners. WataugaOnline reached out to Matt Snyder, Director of the Watauga County Board of Elections, to explain the changes.

“As before, County Commissioner candidates must live in the district for which they want to run. The new law makes it so that a voter only votes for the commissioner in their district. Previously, voters voted for all county commissioners regardless of where the voter lived.” Snyder said.  

“All commissioners are elected to 4-year terms, whereas previously the top two vote-getters received 4-year terms and the third place vote-getter was elected to a 2-year term.”, he also stated.

“The seats are staggered so that next year there are 3 seats up for election, districts 3,4, and 5 and in 2026 there are 2 seats up for election, districts 1 and 2.”, he added.

Back to top button