Last Updated on July 2, 2019 6:42 am
Motorists traveling into neighboring Tennessee should be aware of a new law that took effect July 1.
The Volunteer state is now officially a hands free state, meaning as you drive it is a moving violation to hold an electronic device with any part of your body.
The Tennessee Hands Free Law, also known as Pubic Chapter 412, makes it illegal for a driver to:
hold a cellphone or mobile device with any part of their body,
write, send, or read any text-based communication,
reach for a cellphone or mobile device in a manner that requires the driver to no longer be in a seated driving position or properly restrained by a seat belt,
watch a video or movie on a cellphone or mobile device, and
record or broadcast video on a cellphone or mobile device.
Motorists age 18 and up can use an earpiece, headphone device, or device worn on a wrist to conduct a voice-based communication or using only one button on a wireless device to initiate or terminate a voice
Electronic devices used for the sole purpose of continuously recording or broadcasting video within or outside of the motor vehicle can still be used.
A fine not to exceed fifty dollars will be issued unless it is the person's third or subsequent offense or if the violation results in an accident, then it's a $100 fine.
If the violation occurs in a work zone when employees of the department of transportation or construction workers are present or in a marked school zone when a warning flasher or flashers are in operation, the fine is $200.
The full law can be seen below.
Tennessee is the 19th state to ban cellphone use while driving. North Carolina has their own measure in the legislature known as House Bill 144. That measure has passed three readings in the House and one reading in the Senate where it is currently in committees.