NewsAshe CountyCoronavirus/COVID-19

Watauga & Ashe among 34 communities to get Coronavirus Grants

Last Updated on March 4, 2021 2:51 pm

Watauga County and Ashe County are among 34 communities that will receive aid for COVID-19 response. The total for all the grants is nearly $27 million, Governor Roy Cooper's office announced in late February. The federal funds are being distributed through the Community Development Block Grant Coronavirus (CDBG-CV) program to assist local governments with subsistence payments to prevent evictions and utility disconnections in their communities.

According to the announcement, the funds will also provide public facilities support with broadband, communications, and the rehabilitation of buildings as well as financial assistance to small businesses with fewer than 100 employees and micro-enterprises with no more than five employees.

The funds will be administered by the North Carolina Department of Commerce Rural Economic Development Division.

Funded through the federal CARES Act by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), the North Carolina CDBG-CV grantees include:

  • Ashe County
  • Asheboro
  • Beulaville
  • Buncombe County
  • Carrboro
  • Conover
  • Eden
  • Elizabeth City
  • Fremont
  • Four Oaks
  • Graham County
  • Granite Falls
  • Haywood County
  • Hillsborough
  • Johnston County
  • Jonesville
  • Kinston
  • Maiden
  • Martin County
  • Nash County
  • Newton
  • Orange County
  • Oxford
  • Pitt County
  • Reidsville
  • Richmond County
  • Rockingham County
  • Rutherford County
  • Shelby
  • Tyrell County
  • Watauga County
  • Wilson County
  • Wilson City
  • Yancey County 
Back to top button