New NCDOT Board Members Includes Boone Resident

Last Updated on April 5, 2013 4:48 pm

Ten new board members took their seats on the N.C. Board of Transportation following a swearing-in ceremony Thursday.

The new members are:

Malcolm Fearing of Manteo – Division 1 (Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington counties)

Michael Lee of Wilmington – Division 3 (Brunswick, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender and Sampson counties)

Mike Smith of Raleigh – Division 5 (Durham, Franklin, Granville, Person, Vance, Wake and Warren counties)

Cheryl McQueary of Greensboro – Division 7 (Alamance, Caswell, Guilford, Orange and Rockingham counties)

Jake Alexander of Salisbury – Division 9 (Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Rowan and Stokes counties)

Jim Palermo of Boone – Division 11 (Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes and Yadkin counties)

David L. Brown of Asheville – Division 13 (Buncombe, Burke, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Rutherford and Yancey counties)

Ferrell Blount of Bethel – At-Large (Environmental Issues)

Ned Curran of Charlotte – At-Large (Government-Related Finance and Accounting)

John D. Lennon of Wilmington – At-Large (State Ports & Aviation)

During the April board meeting, Ned Curran was elected as the new chairman. Ferrell Blount will serve as vice chair.

Nineteen men and women from across the state make up the N.C. Board of Transportation and work with NCDOT staff members to make decisions about transportation priorities.

Transportation Secretary Tony Tata welcomed the new board members at the start of the meeting.

“Everything we do is about connecting people with greater opportunities,” Tata said. “As board members, you will play an important role in helping shape a better way of life for all North Carolinians and I am looking forward to working with you in that process.”

Tata also thanked outgoing board chairman Bob Collier for his service. Curran presented Collier with the Order of the Long Leaf Pine award on behalf of Gov. Pat McCrory. Collier joined the board in March of 2004 and has served as chairman since January 2010.

Pictured in photo (from left to right): Cheryl McQueary, Ferrell Blount, Ned Curran, John D. Lennon, David L. Brown, Jim Palermo, Jake Alexander, Mike Smith, Michael Lee, Malcolm Fearing.

Board Swearing-In

Back to top button