Four Day Week Starts June 15 for Watauga County Schools

Last Updated on June 8, 2015 6:23 pm

The Watauga County Schools will adopt a summer work week of four 10-hour days, Monday through Thursday, effective with the work week of June 15-19 and continuing through the week of August 3-7.

            The four day week will apply in all school offices, including the central office at the Board of Education.  Exact starting and ending hours will vary slightly by location, but all school offices will be open Monday through Thursday and closed all day on Fridays.

            Parents are encouraged to call the school office or check the school’s hours as posted on the school website if they plan to visit a school between June 15th and August 7th.  Each school’s website can be accessed under the schools heading on the Watauga County Schools homepage at

A five day week will resume in all schools and school offices beginning August 10th.

            Teachers return to work for the 2015-16 school year on Wednesday, August 12th and the first school day for students will be Tuesday, August 18th.   Freshmen at Watauga High School and their parents will attend orientation at the high school from 12:30-3:30 p.m. on Thursday, August 13th.

Back to top button