NewsSportsAppalachian State football

Coach Jerry Moore statue and plaza dedication unveiled ahead of App State home game

Last Updated on September 19, 2021 9:14 am

Before the kickoff of the first App State home football game for the 2021 season, an unveiling and dedication took place to honor Coach Jerry Moore.

The plaza, just outside the stadium, and a statue of Coach Moore will forever honor the Hall of Fame Coach after Saturday's ceremony.

Photos and Videos: Kenneth Reece/

About Jerry Moore

The winningest football coach in Appalachian State University and Southern Conference history, Moore compiled a 215-87 record in his 24 seasons at Appalachian State (1989-2012), including 10 SoCon championships, 18 postseason appearances and an unprecedented three straight NCAA Division I FCS/I-AA national titles (2005-07). In 31 years as a head coach, Moore was 242-135-2, which is good for top 15 all-time among NCAA Division I coaches. In 2012 alone, Moore passed coaching legends Bo Schembechler (234 victories) and Woody Hayes (238) on the all-time wins list.

Appalachian State became a household name when Moore led his troops to perhaps the biggest and most prominent upset in college football history, a 34-32 triumph over the University of Michigan in the 2007 season opener. The victory over Michigan, college football's all-time winningest program that came into the contest ranked No. 5 in the Associated Press Top 25 poll, marked the first time that an FCS team ever toppled a nationally ranked FBS opponent. The victory also compelled the AP to change its long-standing history of only accepting votes for FBS teams in its Top 25 poll, a move that allowed the Mountaineers to become the first FCS team to ever receive votes in the poll, which they did on three occasions in 2007.

– College Football Hall of Fame, Class of 2014

– North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame, Class of 2009

– Southern Conference Hall of Fame, Class of 2014

– Appalachian State Athletics Hall of Fame, Class of 2015

– The Order of the Long Leaf Pine (2018)

– Fellowship of Christian Athletes Lifetime Achievement Award (2007)

– Baylor University Wall of Honor (2013)

– Neyland Award presented by Knoxville Quarterback Club (2015)

– FCA Wall of Champions (2019)

– AFCA Division I-AA/FCS National Coach of the Year (2005, 2006, 2007)

– Eddie Robinson I-AA/FCS National Coach of the Year, The Sports Network (2006)

– Liberty Mutual FCS National Coach of the Year (2009)

– AFCA Regional Coach of the Year (1994, 1995, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010)

– SoCon Coach of the Year (1991, 1994, 1995, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010)

Back to top button